NOTD: Fimo slice manicure with Orly Pure Porcelain

As a tribute to the suddenly summery weather we’ve been having this week, I decided to try out my Fimo clay flower slices. It took me a little while to decide what to use as a base color- I didn’t want anything too colorful, so the flowers could stand out on their own, but flat white seemed just a little too boring. I finally decided on Orly Pure Porcelain from the Precious collection, which is a really pale beige (the color and consistency actually remind me of foundation, in a good way- creamy and smooth, opaque in three thin coats).

I waited until the polish was about 90% dry, and attached the Fimo slices with just a dab of clear polish. Some people use nail glue, but I think that just makes removal a pain. The flower petals do need to be lightly pressed down, but since the clay is slightly rubbery, it will conform and curve to your nail shape.

I almost didn’t apply topcoat- I kind of liked the matteness of the clay against the gloss of Pure Porcelain- but in the end I swiped it on in hopes of making my manicure last an extra day.

June 9, 2011. Tags: , , , . Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Judy replied:

    I LOVE this manicure! The fimo looks so good against that creamy color!
    I’ve added you to my blogroll, as well, if you don’t mind! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

